Michel, Jean-Francois Eastwind

Brass Octets

  • Michel, Jean-Francois

    Eastwind [101.00 w/404.00 brass choir]

    21st Century (2012). For solo trumpet & trombone (or euphonium) duet feature with 404.00 brass octet (10 players total). Trumpet in Bb or C. Euphonium part in bass or treble clef included. Score & parts.

    To compose "Eastwind", Jean-Fran‡ois Michel took his inspiration from the rich musical folklore of the gypsies who have developed many different styles all over the Balkan and the East-European countries where they have settled. These folk tunes navigatefreely between major and minor modes, between wild dances and sorrowful cantinelas, irresistibly bewitching the sad or happy souls of the listener. "Eastwind" was first performed July 2, 2012 for the opening of the 61st Festival of Ljubljana, in Slovenia, by the Brass Ensemble (4 trumpets and 4 trombones) of the Slokar Academy and the soloists, Franc Kosem, trumpet, and Branimir Slokar, trombone. The two solo parts have been written for solo trumpet in C and trombone and later, for the comfort of the soloists, edited and slightly modified to accommodate the idiomatic particularities of the B-flat cornet (or trumpet) and euphonium. -the publisher

    (score & trumpet part part sample pages)

    • Category: Brass Octets
    • Item: 099899
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $49.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)