Ran, Shulamit Stream

Chamber Music Quintets

  • Ran, Shulamit


    21st Century (2015). Stream for clarinet and string quartet (2 violins, viola, cello) was commissioned by the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society in celebration of its 30th Anniversary Season, through support of The William Penn Foundation. The first performance took place April 2016 at the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia.

    Notes from the composer: "The 'line' in Stream is often threaded together into a chain made up of separate 'points' played by the strings, and sometimes by the string and the clarinet. An analogy might be that each instrument, at times, produces a single'ray of light' from within the larger light source. Moreover, there are many passages where the intended effect is that of the strings providing a 'halo' surrounding the solo clarinet. Similarly, the clarinet often dovetails with, as well as emerges or submerges in and out of, a strand in the string music." -the publisher

    #female composer

    • Category: Chamber Music Quintets
    • Item: 110678
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $58.99

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)