Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (Wiese/Mullemann) Horn Quintet in Eb, K.407 (K.386c)

Chamber Music Quintets

  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (Wiese/Mullemann)

    Horn Quintet in Eb, K.407 (K.386c) (Wiese/Mullemann) [set of parts]

    Classical. For french horn (in E flat or F) and string quartet (2 violins, viola & cello). Parts only. For a matching study score, see item 82116. "We not only owe three of Mozart's horn concertos to his friendship with Ignaz Leutgeb; the solo part of this unusual chamber music work was also written especially for him. Instead of having two violins, the accompanying string quartet has two violas, which complement the dark and warm timbre of the horn and lend the work a unique tonal effect. Echoes of motives from the "Abduction from the Seraglio" allow us to suppose that it was composed around the same time as the Singspiel. As the autograph is missing, this edition is based on the first edition. In addition the critical apparatus provides a careful evaluation of the secondary sources, affording important insights into Mozart's intentions." -the publisher
    • Category: Chamber Music Quintets
    • Item: 082115
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $26.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)