Buss, Howard Fables from Aesop (2001)

Chamber Music Duets/Duos

  • Buss, Howard

    Fables from Aesop (2001)

    For violin & trombone (optional bassoon). in 5 entertaining movements: The Dog Who Chased a Lion, The Astronomer, The Camel Who Wanted Horns, The Crow and the Pitcher, and The Rabbits and the Frogs. Each movement begins with a performer reciting the corresponding fable. The colorful and engaging music is idiomatic and sophisticated, yet it is accessible because of its strong programmatic nature. This piece is a hit with all types of audiences, including those comprised of children. It makes a great concert feature and also is highly effective on out-reach concerts in the schools. "Buss employs a variety of meters, tonalities, and an equality of parts to set this duet apart from other instrumental duos of mixed descent. This is a captivating achievement of great variety and craftsmanship." - reviewed by Joel Elias, California State University, Sacramento in the July 2005 International Trombone Association Journal, Vol. 33, No. 3. Contains 2 performance scores.

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: Chamber Music Duets/Duos
    • Item: 042216
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $16.00
    • (usually ships in 10 to 14 days)