Tull, Fisher Chamber Concerto (1991)

Chamber Music Sextets

  • Tull, Fisher

    Chamber Concerto (1991)

    20th Century (1991). American composer. For trombone solo and woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, french horn). Set in the classical three-movement format, the concerto exploits the unique characteristics of the trombone, both technical and lyrical. The first movement is in a fairly strict sonata-allegro form with a solo cadenza. The second movement is a through-composed tender song that allows the soloist to display the expressive nature of the trombone. The end of the movement connects directly with the final movement in the nature of a perpetual motion scherzo in modified rondo form. Appended to the end of the movement is a chorale-variation presentation of the sixteenth century hymn tune, Le Cantique di Simeon by Louis Bourgeois. Duration is approx 12:00 minutes. - the publisher.

    # solo trombone and woodwind ensemble

    • Category: Chamber Music Sextets
    • Item: 036063
    • Grade/Level: Grade 6 - Advanced
    • Price: $27.95

    • (usually ships in 20 to 30 days)