Mendelssohn, Felix (Hogwood) Nocturno - parts only

Chamber Music Ensembles (9+ Parts)

  • Mendelssohn, Felix (Hogwood)

    Nocturno - parts only (Hogwood)

    In 1826 Mendelssohn composed a Nocturno for a Bad Doberan spa band which consisted of 11 wind players (flute, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, trumpet and english bass horn*). The composition was later used as the basis for his Overture for Winds op. 24 which requires much larger forces. This Nocturno, a chamber music work in the divertimento tradition, was not published during Mendelssohn's lifetime; it appears here in a first ever critical edition. Edited by Christopher Hogwood. With additional parts in B-flat for the clarinet and trumpet as well as parts in F for the horns.

    *The english bass horn is akin to an ophicleide or serpent. It is not in current production. The part can be played on contrabassoon, (low) french horn or even cup muted bass trombone.

    (flute part sample page)

    • Category: Chamber Music Ensembles (9+ Parts)
    • Item: 057745
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $61.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)