Beethoven (Brown) Concerto for Violin in D, op 61

Orchestra Study Scores

  • Beethoven (Brown)

    Concerto for Violin in D, op 61 (Brown)

    What with all the traditional editions available on the market, can we still expect new readings? This is what editor Clive Brown asked himself as he meticulously examined the often conflicting sources. The result is a wealth of new readings in the score, which deserve as much attention as the extensively commented arrangement for violin and piano. The treatment of the solo instrument is particularly interesting: next to the Urtext solo part, the edition also contains a historically informed and marked-up part with fingerings and bowings that go back to Franz Clement, the soloist of the premiere performance, and to the Viennese performance tradition of Beethovens time. For violinists of today, this is a treasure trove of new, innovative ideas and suggestions for the individual shaping of the part. -the publisher
    • Category: Orchestra Study Scores
    • Item: 106081
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $12.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)