Kurtag, Gyorgy Moments Musicaux (6), op 44

String Quartets

  • Kurtag, Gyorgy

    Moments Musicaux (6), op 44

    21st Century. Kurtag, winner of the 2006 Grawemeyer Award in music composition, began composition of this work, his fourth string quartet, in 1999, and completed it in 2005. In this suite of 6 movements Kurtag borrows music from other compositions, particularly from his lengthy J t‚kok for piano. Moments Musicaux was premiered in February of 2006 in Bordeaux, France, during a celebration of the composer's 80th birthday, performed by the Keller Quartet.
    • Category: String Quartets
    • Item: 073513
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $28.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)