Schumann, Robert (Herttrich/Schilde) Fugues (4), op 72

Piano Solos

  • Schumann, Robert (Herttrich/Schilde)

    Fugues (4), op 72 (Herttrich/Schilde)

    G. Henle urtext edition. Edited by Ernst Herttrich. Fingering by Klaus Schilde. "Even for me it is a strange and wonderful fact that almost every motif which forms within me bears the characteristics for multiple contrapuntal combinations", Schumann wrote to Mendelssohn. 1845 was the year in which Schumann discovered his passion for composing fugues - a passion which he shared with his wife Clara. In joint creative sessions, Schumann composed his works for the pedal piano and his four piano fugues op. 72, which he wanted to be seen as "Character pieces but with a stricter form", while Clara wrote her "Six Preludes and Fugues". Even true connoisseurs of Schumann will discover new sides to this accomplished composer in these works.
    • Category: Piano Solos
    • Item: 078859
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $12.95

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)