Elgar, Edward (Sauer) Sospiri

Trombone Solos w/Piano

  • Elgar, Edward (Sauer)

    Sospiri (Sauer)

    20th Century (1914). Originally titled "Sospiri d'Amour," this instrumental miniature, Sospiri (Sighs), Opus 70 was originally intended as a companion to "Salut d'Amour." Elgar composed this heartfelt work in 1914 for string orchestra, harp, and organ, just before the outbreak of World War I. It is a bleak adagio of thoughtful intensity that he dedicated as a tribute to W.H. Reed, a dear friend, and the Concertmaster of the London Symphony. The work has been described most beautifully by Michael Kennedy who wrote, "It is, though short, a major work of grave beauty, an epitome of Elgar's ability to express nostalgic regret."

    Ralph Sauer has arranged this beautiful work for trombone and piano as an homage to the great English master. The work is about 5 minutes in length and appropriate for advanced performers. -the publisher

    • Category: Trombone Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 132170
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $16.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)