Quesada, Sebastian Amethyst Concerto

Euphonium Solos w/Piano

  • Quesada, Sebastian

    Amethyst Concerto

    The Amethyst Concerto for Euphonium and Wind Symphony attempts to explore these kind of situations through a sonorous landscape in a three-movement work. Taking the literal concept of the concerto genre as a contrast between the parts, the Euphonium's voice tries to reject what is happening in its surroundings, represented by the Wind Band. The aggressive discourse of the mass in the first movement called "The hidden side of the labyrinth", which can be very persuading and intimidating, contrasts withthe initial shy line of the soloist. The Amethyst, a crystal that has been culturally associated as a healer of wounds and that soldiers of the Middle Ages used to carry in battles due to a protecting quality, is represented by a five-note motif (which Icall the "Amethyst motif"). This cell, sometimes with variations in rhythm and design, is used throughout the entire piece as a constant presence that accompanies the individual voice (the soloist) in its transforming process. "The Amethyst Perspective",a more meditative movement and built largely with the Amethyst motif, comes to purify and heal the soloist from its wounds. In the final movement "Stream Refraction", the melodic line of the Euphonium has gained more confidence and determination, managing with firmness the intimidating sonority of the ensemble. The Wind Band starts putting attention to the soloist and the piece changes towards a more imitative texture with a brighter character. The once inaudible voice is now bringing a whole newconception of its reality, with new perspectives, different paths and unexpected hopes.

    Sebastian Quesada is a Costar Rican composer interested in exploring the ambiguous and subjective condition of music to suggest particular images. Appealing to a mixture of different genres and processes, his pieces try to address musical narratives related to how we, as social entities, perceive our environment. His openness to collaboration has led him to work in a variety of contexts (from chamber music to rock music, incidental works, arranging, installations, among others), which has contributed in his intentions to synthesize different elements towards extra-musical concepts. His music has been performed by the Harlem String Quartet, Eight Blackbird, the National Symphony of Costa Rica, the Concert Band of Cartago, the Costa Rican Guitar Quartet and others. Among his awards are the first prize of the Barbara Wagner Composition Commission Competition and the runner-up of the Guitar Composition Contest "Promises of the Guitar."

    Quesada holds degrees in composition from Michigan State University, Truman State University and University of Costa Rica, as well as a degree in Music Theory from Michigan State University.

    (solo part sample pages)

    • Category: Euphonium Solos w/Piano
    • Item: 132397
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $38.00

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)