Traditional (Kernan) Nun Danket alle Gott

Brass Quintets w/Organ

  • Traditional (Kernan)

    Nun Danket alle Gott (Kernan) [211.01 w/optional organ]

    The melody of the chorale Nun danket alle Gott (Now Thank We All Our God) was originally written in 1636 by the German clergyman and musician Martin Rinckart. Its international fame is due to the fact that in 1725 Johann Sebastian Bach based his cantata Gott, der Herr, ist Sonn' und Schild (BWV 79) on this melody. After a short introduction the chorale follows, first in four-part harmony, and later with an added counterpart. A middle section, which sounds refreshing and rhythmic because of the time changes and articulation used, finally leads to a repeat of the chorale with an agile upper part. This arrangement also contains an organ part ad libitum.
    • Category: Brass Quintets w/Organ
    • Item: 064028
    • Grade/Level: Intermediate
    • Price: $23.00

    • (usually ships in 6 to 9 days)