Gabrieli, Giovanni (Chasanov) Hodie Christus Natus Est, Ch.C8

10-Part Brass Choirs (Dectet)

  • Gabrieli, Giovanni (Chasanov)

    Hodie Christus Natus Est, Ch.C8 (Chasanov) [422.02 or 423.01]

    Renaissance. Transposed up a perfect 4th from the original. Rhythmic values are original. This motet is originally for eight voices, here transcribed and arranged for ten. The work is a "contrafactum" (textual substitution) of Gabrieli's own madrigal O Che Felice Giorno (Ch.114), published in Rome, 1590. -cdp

    Hodie Christus natus est (Today Christ is Born) is an a cappella double-choir choral motet from Gabrieli's famous Sacrae symphoniae of 1597. Mr. Chasanov has arranged this for 10-part brass ensemble of two 5-part choirs (double brass quintet). Themusic is full of remarkable rhythmic counterpoint demanding full concentration from the performers. The 4 minute arrangement is appropriate for moderately advanced performers. -the publisher

    (score sample pages)

    • Category: 10-Part Brass Choirs (Dectet)
    • Item: 105159
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $36.45

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)