Bach, Johann Sebastian (Marcellus) Capriccio, BWV.992

Trombone Quartets

  • Bach, Johann Sebastian (Marcellus)

    Capriccio, BWV.992 (Marcellus)

    Baroque. Capriccio in B-flat, BWV 992 is an early keyboard work Bach first performed at age nineteen when his brother Johann Jacob travelled to become an oboist in the army of Charles XII of Sweden. The twelve-minute work for 4-part trombone ensemble is appropriate for advanced performers. Dr. Marcellus has dedicated his arrangement to the memory of the late Steve Witser, his former student and colleague who was principal trombonist with the Los Angeles Philharmonic. The work is separated into six sections titled:
    1. Arioso: Adagio - His friends try to persuade him not to undertake the journey.
    2. Andante - His friends tell him of the various misfortunes that may befall him abroad.
    3. dagiosissimo - The general lament of his friends.
    4. Andante con moto - His friends come, since they see that it must be, and take leave of him.
    5. Horn Aria
    6. Fugue in Imitation of the Posthorn.

    • Category: Trombone Quartets
    • Item: 115383
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $21.95

    • (usually ships in 24 hours)