Bach (Sauer) Ricercare a6, from A Musical Offering

14-Part Brass Choirs (Quatuordectet)

  • Bach (Sauer)

    Ricercare a6, from A Musical Offering (Sauer) [444.02]

    Baroque. "A Musical Offering", BWV 1079, is a collection of canons and fugues based on a single musical theme given to Bach by Frederick the Great of Prussia. The Ricercar a 6 is a 6-voice fugue considered to be the highlight of the entire work and described as possibly the greatest piano composition in musical history.

    Mr. Sauer has scored Bach’s fugue for 14-piece Brass ensemble, the texture of which is quite transparent until the latter part of the work, which builds to a climax of glory.

    Instrumentation: 4 Trumpets in C, 4 Horns, 4 Trombones, 2 Tubas (optional single tuba part also included).

    The work is about 8 minutes in length and is suitable for advanced performers. -the publisher

    • Category: 14-Part Brass Choirs (Quatuordectet)
    • Item: 091724
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $30.00

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)