Albeniz (Beneto) Asturias, from Suite Espanola, op 47

Brass Quintets

  • Albeniz (Beneto)

    Asturias, from Suite Espanola, op 47 (Beneto) [210.11]

    20th Century. Spanish. Begins simply with moving eighth notes in the euphonium (trombone) with a steady motor rhythm of repeated sixteenth notes in the horn. Other players layer over top increasing in intensity with frequent "hairpin" dynamic changes. A slow, transparent, lyrical section follows and leads back to the faster opening material. Slow and fast sections continue to alternate until the piece concludes with quiet burst of repeated sixteenth notes and final chord. Scored for 1st trumpet in C, Flugelhorn in Bb, horn, euphonium in bass clef, and tuba. Playable by standard brass quintet instrumentation. Score and parts. -pc
    • Category: Brass Quintets
    • Item: 064999
    • Grade/Level: Advanced
    • Price: $25.95

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)