Bach, Johann Sebastian (Kuijken/Demeyere) Trio Sonata in G, BWV.1038

Chamber Music Trios

  • Bach, Johann Sebastian (Kuijken/Demeyere)

    Trio Sonata in G, BWV.1038 (Kuijken/Demeyere)

    Baroque. For flute, violin & basso continuo. The Trio Sonata BWV 1038 is the first edition of chamber music for flute by Johann Sebastian Bach that Barthold Kuijken has prepared. Scholars have long doubted the authorship of this work for stylistic reasons, even though the performance parts of the principal source were written by Bach himself; unfortunately he forgot, or did not consider it necessary, to append his name to the music. Kuijken rolls out some convincing arguments that refute the thesis that the young Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach worked out the trio version from the Violin Sonata BWV 1022. The edition also examines a variety of new findings on the origin of the work in the preface, and offers a faultless Urtext with a stylistically masterfully realized continuo part, all reflecting the highest editorial standards. -the publisher
    • Category: Chamber Music Trios
    • Item: 091684
    • Grade/Level:
    • Price: $21.30

    • (usually ships in 10 to 15 days)